Advent Day 20: Letting Go

Letting Go

When we hold on to idols or sin patterns in our lives with tightly clenched fists, we can close ourselves off from letting God work in our lives. Sometimes the act of letting go needs to be tangible for us to truly understand how we can let God lead us.

Engage in the following exercise to help you let go of any sin patterns that are keeping your heart from being pure before God this year.

Action
On a sheet of paper, write down all the things in your life you are holding on to that might be hindering your walk with God—sins, vices, idols. Reflect on this passage as you write.

Psalm 139:23–24
Search me, God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

Hold the paper out in front of you in both hands. As you pray the following prayer, clench the paper tightly to represent your reluctance to let go. When you are ready, release the paper and open your hands out to God.

God, I hold up all that I am holding on to that is keeping me from You.

Help me loosen my grip on my sin and idols and relinquish them to You.

Thank You for taking all my sin and for forgiving me. Help me keep my hands open to You and the work You want to do in my life.

Leave a Reply

